#Festive500 Ride 8


Another bitterly cold and frosty morning for a ride and New Year’s Eve is looking only marginally warmer. Originally I had intended to set off before the dawn, but given the conditions of the roads I decided to wait until I could see what I was riding on. The main downside to this was a later start and I had to be back by 10am – we were off to Cambridge to take the girls to see Aladdin. It was a very entertaining panto and the girls thoroughly enjoyed it even if most of Widow Twanky’s jokes were over their heads, although I would love to have seen the discomfort on any teenage boys faces (and there were some in the audience) at the sock gag.

On the Kimbolton Road

On the Kimbolton Road

Anyway, while the winter countryside looked stunning the roads were nasty. Not only did I have limited time to ride, but by necessity it was also with caution and at a steady space. I stuck to the roads I know well, reading them constantly for signs of ice and the best lines to take. There was little traffic so I spent much of the time in the middle of the road. The exposed surfaces were already thawing, but I encountered a bad patch just before the descent down Sunderland Hill. A car, now covered in an icy glaze, had run off the road into a hedge. It wasn’t a fun stretch and so when I approach the lip of the hill I dismounted and walked down.

Looking across to Staughton

Looking across to Staughton

I made it home without incident and passed Mark, one of my club mates, on his way out. A few more kilometres logged. Only 76km left to go and all now for New Year’s Eve.

<< #Festive500 Rides 6 and 7#Festive500 Ride 9 >>

About velorichard

Riding a bike around Cambridgeshire looking for some hills
This entry was posted in Countryside, Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #Festive500 Ride 8

  1. Frank Burns says:

    New Year’s Eve should be a much better day…..I will aim to put in a 50-60 miler myself….and then study the annual total….. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: #Festive500 Ride 9 | Velo Richard

  3. Pingback: #Festive500 Rides 6 and 7 | Velo Richard

Leave a Reply

