How to Wear an Inner Tube Sling


For turbo training with a broken collarbone I’ve found an old inner tube makes for the best sling – thanks to club mate Joe for the tip! I’ve never tried it on the road, and hope never to, but I suspect the inner tube would double up as practical piece of first aid kit too.
So, how best to wear it? Well I’ve found there are two pretty good options.

1. Round the neck

sling1Simply drape the inner tube around the back of your neck. You should have two loops dangling down either side. Put your forearm through the loops. If you space the two loops out so that one is by your wrist and the other by your elbow, you’ll have more even support and greater comfort.

MTB tubes, being wider will better distribute weight around your neck, but being a smaller hoop will raise your forearm higher than a road tube.

2. Over the shoulder

sling2This option is only really suitable for a 700c tube – a wider cyclocross tube will give a bit more comfort.

Put the injured arm through the tube and let it hand from your elbow. With your good arm, take the hanging end of the tube and bring it over your shoulder. Place your wrist into the end loop hanging down your chest. This option is tighter, but the weight is taken by the good shoulder rather than around the neck. I’ve found this more comfortable for turbo training.

You can do a variation on over the shoulder. Instead of bringing the tube over your shoulder, bring the dangling end around and put your good arm through it. Pull it down from your shoulder and rest your injured arm on the tube. I don’t think this works so well for 700c tubes as it is too loose, but it might work OK for a 26″ MTB tube.

About velorichard

Riding a bike around Cambridgeshire looking for some hills
This entry was posted in Cycling, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Wear an Inner Tube Sling

    • velorichard says:

      Nah, my legs are going nuts not being able to ride properly – they need an outlet otherwise I fear they’ll start trying to kick my arms!

      Like

      • bikevcar says:

        Yeah I understand. I hate being injured. If it’s an injury to an isolated area like a collarbone it makes sense to keep fit using your legs. When I broke a bone in my foot a few years ago I was doing upper body weights sessions while still on crutches! Most people think you’re mad. I probably am 😉

        Like

  1. Superb bit of DIY first aid! When I broke my collarbone a few years back, I couldn’t move for days, let alone carry on training.

    Chapeau, sir. Chapeau.

    Like

Leave a Reply

