Weather


Last week ended in a deluge progressing through snow, sleet, hail and rain. This week started with floods and freezing fog. It hasn’t improved. This morning, still cocooned in winter gear, I again rode through sleet. Yet one year ago today I was riding in shorts, enjoying sun and snacking on flies. Those days seem so very far away.

Of course, last year’s fine March weather didn’t last. The hose pipe bans started in April, as did the rain. While the hose pipe bans were soon rescinded, spring quite literally flowed into summer and on into autumn. At least the winter had a little snow to brighten the gloom.

But I’m not writing off the summer just yet, on the contrary I’m hopeful, I have faith in unsound reasoning. Last March we had good weather, the rest of the year was miserable. This year March is miserable, it must therefore follow that the long-term forecast for the rest of the year is good. I’m already looking forward to long rides in April sunshine, although singing la, la, la I’m not listening at my rational side is giving me a headache. For wisdom on the British weather, it knows I would be as well off consulting the entrails of a road kill badger.

And if we don’t have a good summer? Then obviously this post jinxed it. Just like last year’s post did for 2012. At least next year will be third time lucky, so here’s to the long hot summer of 2014!

About velorichard

Riding a bike around Cambridgeshire looking for some hills
This entry was posted in Cycling, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

