Grass in the middle of the road


I always take grass growing in the middle of a single track road to be a good omen. It is a promise of quiet, traffic free riding, and perhaps, something a bit out of the ordinary compared to the usual road ride. This morning, I thought I had learnt a new fact. Listening to the radio, the DJ had commented on the number of roads, encountered while on recent travels, with grass growing down their middle (BBC 6Music for you I suppose). A short time later, a listener sent a message saying the grass in the middle of the road is called a “Long Acre”. Interesting, I thought, perhaps I’ll blog my new knowledge later.

So here I am. Except, my new knowledge, initially accepted at face value, is not quite true. Before writing I googled “Long Acre” only to find the it refers to the grassy strip on each side of the road, i.e. it is another term for a grass verge.

Back to google and more searches, but no success. So I changed tack and tried variations on single track roads and ruts. Surely there is a name for the bit in between two ruts? Well if there is, it has defeated my brief Sunday afternoon research.

You are probably bored and I am still no wiser what the name for grass growing in the middle of the road is. However, if you do happen to know, please share and satisfy my curiosity!

About velorichard

Riding a bike around Cambridgeshire looking for some hills
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grass in the middle of the road

  1. Robert says:

    I am about to purchase a property which is at the end of a long dead end road. There is a grass center line down the middle of the road which if not careful you bottom the car on it, what I need to know who is responsible to remove this and if it is removed what happens to any damaged that occurs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

